Virgin of the Offering

When I opened my sketchbook this morning I found another blind drawing that I had made almost a month ago, while I was visiting Adelaide.

This drawing also took place while I was having coffee, at that time in the courtyard of the Art Gallery of South Australia. The drawing is of the Virgin of the Offering by Emile-Antoine Bourdelle, 1921.

The Virgin of the Offering, Emile Bourdelle, 1921, bronze

The Virgin of the Offering, Emile Bourdelle, 1921, bronze

I was also interested to see that an almost identical sculpture by Bourdelle, The Virgin of Alsace, is located at the Dean Gallery in Edinburgh. In the Edinburgh sculpture the Virgin is looking out at the viewer, the sculpture in Adelaide has her with her gaze lowered. Quite clearly clever Bourdelle has made two versions of the same work with only minimal reworking.

Thanks for commenting, I like to hear your thoughts and ideas.

