Blind Drawing

I’ve been making ‘blind drawings’ over the last two weeks. Not many, but some. I’m currently going flat out preparing for an exhibition in October. I’m filling an unexpected vacancy at the Tuggeranong Arts Centre with a solo show of my stitched works, (one of two such centres in the ACT), so most of my attention is going to making work for that show.

Firstly, using my black Posca acrylic paint marker, I drew another ‘architectural’ glass. I made this drawing at the National Gallery of Australia. I find that after a week bent over my own work I’m needing a major art fix to re-charge my batteries. I’ve recently been to see the NGA show of Robert Motherwell’s prints At Five in the Afternoon (not a reference to the cocktail hour).

An 'architectural' glass at the National Gallery of Australia, acrylic paint marker, 1 August 2014

An ‘architectural’ glass at the National Gallery of Australia, acrylic paint marker, 1 August 2014

Last week a quiet week day break at our local coffee shop provided the opportunity to draw a truck and small digger working at a building site across the road from where I was sitting. I couldn’t fit it all on one page so it’s over two double spreads of my 3″x5″ sketch book. I’m not sure why, but I get a real buzz out of drawing trucks and construction equipment.

The first half of the truck drawing, pen and ink, 5 August 2014

The first half of the truck drawing, pen and ink, 5 August 2014.

I just noticed that I was more out of it than I realised as I’ve written July, instead of August, for the date of the drawings. Anyway, here is the back half of the vehicle with the digger.

The second part of the truck drawing, 5 August 2014 (not July), pen and ink.

The second part of the truck drawing, 5 August 2014 (not July), pen and ink.

I couldn’t resist putting the two images together.

The two halves of the drawing brought together.

The two halves of the drawing brought together.

Thanks for commenting, I like to hear your thoughts and ideas.

