Drawing the exhibition -Robert Hannaford 

On a visit to  Adelaide a week ago we saw the retrospective of the work of Robert Hannaford, a South Australian portraitist, at the Art Gallery of South Australia. It was fascinating to see what 50 years of work looked like, particularly the many self portraits Hannaford has made over that time. I also enjoyed seeing that he made the type of quick sketches in coffee shops and bars that many of us make, which are worthwhile in themselves.  

What did surprise me were two sculptures that were included in the show. His understanding of the figure in space I found to be even more compelling than his painted portraits. As I was with other people opportunities for sketching were limited.  I  sketched two versions of his bronze sculpture ‘Handstand’.

Rather wonky, but I couldn’t resist the dramatic shadow being cast by the left leg over the torso of the sculpture

You can find more of his work at his website

8 Comments

  1. beautiful sketches Leonie. You too have shown great sensitivity and understanding of the form with these.

    Reply

  2. These are lovely drawings Leonie – you capture the sense of movement that must be in the sculptures. I didn’t know that Robert Hannaford did sculpture, but I have enjoyed seeing his portraits for some time. I will look out for the sculptures!

    Reply

    1. Yes I was also very pleased to see his sculpture. I think he has a great sense of the body in space, which you also see in some of his less formal portraits. The sculptural pieces in the show had great energy. His website has more examples.

      Reply

Thanks for commenting, I like to hear your thoughts and ideas.

